Some Experience With Google Wave

For my personal projects I’ve got Trac setup (OForge to be more precise). Recently with several friends we started working on a new project – 101senses.ch – and for it we adopted Google Wave as a collaboration tool.

Actually we started with the wiki on Trac. But after jumping on the wave wiki naturally became obsolete, old fashioned, inconvenient.

Some observations about GWave:

It reminds a wiki in some sense, just that collaboration happens real-time. You don’t have to browse through versions and diffs just to see recent updates.

The functionality of folders is ua bit cumbersome or sometimes even useless. At least I was not able to find any good use for them. The only thing I do is to apply a label “Meeting” with the saved search feature.

I start to fear that as the number of waves increases it will be quite a mess. Even now with 20 waves we already have duplicates. And there is no way to unshare a wave or delete it for everyone.

I really need workspaces. I’m working with different teams on different projects and mixing all the waves in the same pile just makes me loose an overview.

Widgets are cool but where do I find them? Would be great to have some kind of an app market on the web.

It’s really great that GWave is open. Because I can extend it with my apps or change it with my own UI. I think it makes a lot of sense. If eventually GWave is adopted as a collaboration platform then we can expect many nice SaaS solutions showing up on the web. The competitive advantage will be determined by a set of features and the user experience, and we won’t need to care about data portability.

– posted from my Android

2 Responses to “Some Experience With Google Wave”

  1. Chris Lang Says:

    Fist of all I am confused as to why you are starting new waves and are having doc version problems. Each wave is a document, each document is full editable, there are no reasons for multiple versions of a doc, just create a wave with the doc, then you all edit one doc. Just like you do in Google docs, continue to use that wave and that doc.

    As far as an app gallery http://wave-samples-gallery.appspot.com/ should do the job.

    Finally there is a full API available to you so anything Gwave does not do a average to good programmer should be able to create an app for you. Look into appspot.com

    Also any XML based Google app should run in Wave like all the OpenSocial XML based apps available for say iGoogle.

    If I can help you in any way with Gwave (as we call it) be sure to shout me up on the email I used for this comment and you can wave me at chrislang@googlewave.com

    Also realize Gwave is a very social app. Google Friend Connect, Reader, Gmail and Wave are all wired together thru your Google contacts.

    We are calling this Google’s Secret Social Network. We have spent 2 years watching development of what we believe is the coming dominant social network….

  2. taroza Says:

    Hey Chris, thanks for the input. Really helpful!

    As far as version problems is concerned, I mean that when you have a bunch of waves, you loose track of what you really have. E.g. I started a wave like three weeks ago called “market research”, then someone had new input but forgot or didn’t really follow that wave. This someone then created a new wave called “market research” and put his content there. So there are a couple of waves about the same thing, and one needs to merge both “market research” waves into one somehow. I haven’t found good approach for that…


Leave a Reply

